Quick Links

Useful Links



The role of the Governors is to hold ultimate control of, and responsibility for, the management of the School:

  • ensuring the School acts in accordance with the School’s Constitution
  • educating, safeguarding and promoting the wellbeing of pupils
  • ensuring compliance with the inspection regime
  • ensuring the School’s activities in furtherance of its charitable objects in the context of its regulation by the Charity.

The Governors’ key responsibilities are to:

  • set a clear vision, mission and strategic plan for the School and ensure that the necessary structures are in place to deliver those as part of the strategic management of the School
  • ensure the performance of the School
  • ensure that the School complies with all legal and regulatory requirements
  • act as guardians of the School’s assets, both tangible and intangible
  • ensure that the School’s governance is of the highest possible standard

The Governing Body undertake this by directing the principles; the day to day management of the School is delegated to the Head and the senior leadership team.


There are 3 sub committees which include amongst their members staff and suitable qualified experts in the particular field that the committee covers. 

The sub committees report to the Full Governing Board. 

Currently SCS has three sub committees as follows:

(The Terms of Reference for these 3 committees are currently under review)

To contact the Interim Chair of Governors please write to Mr James Fletcher, c/o Salisbury Cathedral School, 1 The Close, Salisbury, SP1 2EQ




  • Karen Beard
    Executive PA to Head and Clerk to Governors
  • Claire Firth
    Well-Being Committee and Deputy Safeguarding Governor
  • James Fletcher
    Chair of Governors, F &GP Committee
  • Will Ings
    Education Committee and Compliance and Risk Governor
  • Sophia Lumley
    Well-Being Committee
  • The Reverend Canon Anna Macham.
    Safeguarding Governor and Well-Being Committee
  • Tim Olliff-Lee
    Co-Chair of the F&GP Committee
  • James Lyon Taylor
    Education Committee and Boarding Governor
  • Tim Crarer,
    Well Being Committee,
  • Jon Sloan
    Co-Chair of the Finance and General Purpose Committee and Marketing Governor